FIFA World Cup 2006 : [ Latest News ] [ Schedules ] [ Groups ] [ Venues ][ TV Schedule ]

Soccer World Cup Index

FIFA World Cup Latest News
FIFA History
World Cup Tournaments

Classic Players
Classic Matches
World Cup Awards

  Golden Boot
  Golden Ball
  Yashin Award
  Fair Play Award

Most Entertaining Team
Top Goalscorers
Fastest Goals

World Rankings
Player of the year

Golden Ball Awards

Adidas Golden Ball

The Golden Ball is an award attributed to the most outstanding player of the World Cup final tournament. FIFA announces a shortlist of ten nominees which is then voted by media representatives. The most voted player is elected to win the Golden Ball, the second most voted player wins the Silver Ball and the third most voted player wins the Bronze Ball. Its awarding is shrouded by allegations of being influenced by diplomacy: the three awards have always been won by players from three different nations.

World Cup Adidas Golden Ball Adidas Silver Ball Adidas Bronze Ball
1982 Spain Paolo Rossi
Karl-Heinz Rummenigge
1986 Mexico Diego Maradona
Harald Schumacher
Preben Elkjær
1990 Italy Salvatore Schillaci
Lothar Matthäus
Diego Maradona
1994 USA Romário
Roberto Baggio
Hristo Stoitchkov
1998 France Ronaldo
Davor Šuker
Lilian Thuram
2002 Korea/Japan Oliver Kahn
Hong Myung-Bo
(South Korea)
2006 Germany Zinedine Zidane (France) Fabio Cannavaro (Italy) Andrea Pirlo (Italy)